Find the Meaning of Each Tarot Card and How to Use Them


A set of tarot cards may be defined as a set of cards with symbolic images on it. Meaning of each tarot card is different. Each symbolic image on the card is representative of fortune, misfortune, death, birth and similar things. For most people a set of tarot cards is a deck or set of cards that can reveal a persons fortune.

The French suited tarot cards were the first tarot cards used, but they were not used for predicting the future. They were only for card games. Etteilla was the first person to use tarot cards to predict the future. The pack of tarot cards used contained 78 cards. Each card consisted of various symbols, and the meaning of each tarot card varied.

It is generally believed that the symbols and pictures on the cards connect the tarot card reader with the collective unconscious. The collective unconscious is the spiritual connection that exists between every living thing in the present as well as in the past. The collective unconscious is also defined as the spiritual power that is present everywhere in the universe.

Interpreting tarot cards is certainly not an easy thing to do. The first thing to remember is the symbolic meaning of each tarot card. To become a good tarot card reader you must practice – this is very important. It is not enough just to know the symbolic meaning of each tarot card – the true meaning depends on the layout of the cards also. You simply cannot give an accurate meaning of a single isolated card.

Before attempting to understand the meaning of each tarot card one must understand the two major tarot card groups, the major arcana consisting twenty-two cards and the minor arcana cards consisting fifty-six cards. The major arcana cards are usually symbolic of matters of great significance while the minor arcana cards predict about everyday affairs like career and personal life.

The cards included within the major arcana are The Magician, The Empress, The Hierophant, The Chariot, The Hermit, Justice, Death, The Devil, The Star, The Sun, The World, The Fool, The High Priestess, The emperor, The Lovers, Strength, Wheel of Fortune, The Hanged Man, Temperance, The Tower, The Moon and Judgement.

The meaning of each tarot card is different like The Fool is symbolic of spiritual or physical journeys and the start of a new cycle in life. The Magician signifies mastering of the material world. The High Priestess is symbolic of secret knowledge and wisdom. The empress signifies security, creativeness and general well being.

The emperor is symbolic of authority, worldly power, responsible and structure. The Hierophant refers to religious authority, guidance, routine and ritual. The lover is symbolic of union and harmony. The Chariot represents victory over adversity. Strength is symbolic of self-control and courage.

The meaning of each tarot card also depends on the learn tarot card being upright or reversed. The meanings discussed are in the case of upright cards. The Hermit indicates caution and want of prudence. The Wheel of Fortune indicates effortless success, luck and good fortune. Justice indicates fair solutions to conflict. The Hangman suggests devotion towards a worthy cause. Death is indicative of a new life, a new beginning and major changes.

The tarot card Temperance refers to combination, co-ordination and co-operation. The Devil is symbolic of material pleasures like money and other physical things. The Tower signifies loss, disruption, conflict and major changes in life. On the other hand, The Star represents hope and healing. While, The Moon is symbolic of imagination, which could be illusions as well.

The tarot card The World refers to completing projects, or life events providing fulfilment and accomplishment, and The Sun signifies contentment and happiness. The Judgement represents joy which has been found in work or in a certain period of life. These are simply basic meanings, however the true meaning of each tarot card is much more complicated than this.

Within the minor arcana there are 4 suits, and each suit includes 14 cards. The four suits are the Suit of Cups, Suit of Coins, Suit of Swords and the Suit of Wands. The cards within the Cups suit are the Ace of Cups, 2 of Cups, 3 of Cups etc etc all the way up to 10 of Cups. Following this comes the Page of Cups, The Knight of Cups, The Queen of Cups and The King of Cups. The meaning of each tarot card is very different.

The tarot card the ace of wands is representative of the start of new work, or creative flame. The 2 of wands stands for boldness and willpower. The 3 of wands represents cooperation of action in balance, and of willpower, and the 4 of wands leans toward achievement of goals following a struggling period. 5 of wands symbolizes opposition or even resistance, 6 of wands is all about being triumphant or of a victory at the end of a struggle, and the 7 of wands represents great courage or bravery during difficulties. The 8 of wands is a sign of rapid action and the 9 of wands indicates strength. The 10 of wands suggests oppression.

The princess of wands is another name for the page of wands. It indicates a very trustworthy person wanting to give joy to people surrounding him/her. Knight of wands will show a person full of energy, and the queen of wands stands for a generous, capable or fair person. King of wands is a sign of a very generous and kind man who has great love for his home and family. As can be seen the meaning of each tarot card discussed is not the same.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *